It's 1221


Stand Up and Clap: African Collective Shows in NYC
14 February, 2009, 1:10 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

New York Fashion Week is underway, and we will see tons of the same models, designers we know and love gushing about their visions, and leggy girls sipping champagne–for me, that feels “done.”

Rather, I was excited to see the African Collective in today’s news.

When I was in college, I took an intro to African History course with this old-school professor and I always think back to him whenever discussions of Africa and its place in the world surface; he opened my eyes. If you haven’t noticed, there is so much more to the continent of Africa than leopard prints, safaris and civil wars. Of course the Western world is stuck in an imperialistic trope, but maybe it has to do with our humbled economic position and our new president… I don’t know exactly, but change is in the air. And I like it. Fashion is everywhere and seeing the fashion world become slightly more inclusive makes me want to stand up and clap. Read Guy Trebay’s article>>

 

Alex Wek modeling for Stoned Cherrie, Friday 13 February

Alex Wek modeling for Stoned Cherrie, 13 February 2009

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

