It's 1221


The List: Part One, Baby!

“We rocked the shit out of it,” said Eric Ronick about Black Gold’s third live show (ever!) as openers for Panic at the Disco in front of 10,000 fans. If listening to “Plans and Revelries” is not enough to bolster that statement, here’s some food for thought: RCRD LBL heralds their just released debut full-length Rush as, “what may be the WARMEST and MOST CHARMING indie pop offerings in recent memory.” Holy God, I thought; the remix of “Plans and Reveries” by the Teenagers hit me like a sonic tidal wave. This BK duo expertly plays with a range of genres and influences–think psychedelia and Hot Chip–to concoct a dazzling and trend-setting sound all their own.

>>this is a must download<<


L.A.’s The Bird and the Bee have an album release show at the Museum of Natural History tonight for Ray Guns Are Not Just the Future. From the lush “Baby” to the magnetic “Love Letter to Japan” to the coquettish “Polite Dance Song,” this album screams “I am yours, I am yours.” Irana George brings the house down and it’s one big love affair.

 

Ben Kweller, you have my number on speed dial. Not only did I listen through his new album Changing Horses nine times when I got it last Sunday, but it is E X A C T L Y what I want to hear right now *ahem* when I am in a folksy mood and not bopping around. There’s nothing over-produced about the sound, and Kweller delivers quality lyrics and tunes for a breathtaking collection of majestic songs. While I would have preferred opening track “Gypsy Rose” elsewhere on the album, “Old Hat” draws listeners in and shimmers, “Sawdust Man” is dynamite, and “Ballad of Wendy Baker” is swoon-inducing.

That girl’s a crook,

got my heart in her pocketbook,

oh, she don’t even want to be my friend,

she just wants me wanting her again

-Kweller on “Wanting Her Again”

 

Certainly, most people write about what they know, and K’naan did just that for the “KickED PushED” video, which is an assemblage of actual footage from the arrest of K’naan’s manager, Sol Guy, in Sweden after being attacked by the police. The lyrics, penned by K’naan to Lupe Fiasco’s “Kick Push (Instrumental),” hit home because there is an uneasy tension in the air when we live in a liberal democracy with tons of discrimination and racism. On a brighter note, I’m just loving the rollicking “ABCs Featuring Chubb Rock,” and “Dreamer” is catchy party song. Troubadour drops 24 February with a performance at L.A.’s Roxy on 17 February. 

“I think I felt you in the wind today,” a soulful K’naan croons on the “Going Away” duet with Nelly Furtado. Check it:

 

Monday night I saw Nightmares on Wax and, unfortunately, I couldn’t get close for a good picture/I was having too much fun. So, this was the first L.A. appearance of the Leeds-based DJ Ease (aka George Evelyn). The set was on the shorter side, but it was a Monday night and the music was moving. The crowd was a little dysfunctional when it came to hollering back to the performers. I don’t go for the crowd, and I advise you to turn it up for a mind-blowing moment.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

This post popped up on my Google alerts for Black Gold. Great to see more people getting into them – they’re amazing! Just one little correction for you though… it’s “Plans & Reveries.” Not “Revelries.” Though with these guys, there is plenty of revelry too. 😀

Comment by jenepherre

Thanks, and I fixed the typo.
If you want to write about them or got any other suggestions for sweet tunes, let us know!

Comment by twelvetwenty1




Leave a Reply

