It's 1221


mama loves nortec
11 January, 2009, 10:54 AM
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am alive. In the coming days things will be rolling here much more smoothly; I don’t have a workstation set-up and I just moved into my apartment… plus, it took me two days to get to LA from Boston. 

Let’s hit the concert highlights of last week, and tomorrow I’ll get to writing about fashion:

Thursday: Nortec Collective Presents Bostich+Fussible, Echoplex

Truly one of the most driving shows I’ve been to. Never a lull. Packed. Dance-a-thon. Not to be missed.

Nortec is on Nacional Records and Tijuana Sound Machine is nominated for the “Best Latin Rock/Alternative Album” at this year’s Grammys.

Live photo from Echoplex

MySpace

Tuesday: The Gabe Dixon Band, Hotel Cafe

I didn’t know anything about this trio before I got to the show, but clearly I was missing out. Absolutely killed it. Only way to describe it. From a writer’s perspective, moving imagery and memorable lines–I was jet-lagged and hearing these songs for the first time, but parts of them stayed with me. Download their self-titled album out on Fantasy Records

MySpace

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

